Tax/Relax Time

17 Jan

Who's looking after your money!?

Ufile and Quicktax 2009 software programs were lined up in front of Future Shop for sale.  Reminding us that it’s that time again to do your taxes!  Don’t worry, it’s not due till April 30, 2010… For me, I like to get a head start to the tax season.

Punching in the numbers online at Quicktax for 2009, I owe about $400 in taxes.  This is derived solely on my salary minus my contributions for RRSP that I’ve already made throughout the year.  I know I have some capital gains, dividends, and interest income over the past year that I didn’t enter into the equation.  Most likely, I probably have to put more than $1500 in order to avoid the tax man.  Scourging for money at this point is hard for me as I am up to my eyeballs on my line of credit.

This year will definitely be a busy one for me.  My schedule will be action packed so I think!

  • Dodgeball on Thursday nights from Jan 21st to March 1st
  • Babysit Lainey every first Sat or Sun of the month
  • Bridesmaid duties till the big date Aug 28th
  • Plan Van (3 days) & China trip in Sept/Oct (3 weeks)

My head is filled of things.  There are ton of stuff to do, yet I always put them off.  I don’t want to be all over the place anymore.  Set a plan and reason it out!

  • I’ve been wanting to buy a laptop for a while–> I didn’t end up buying one.  I’m using my brother’s OLD laptop that wasn’t working for the longest time.  My BF rescued this poor old thing, now it’s up and running.  Tonight, I entered the network key at home to get this baby going.  Here I am typing away woohoo!
  • I’ve been wanting to install keyless entry to my car –> I definitely want the convenience of the push of a button to gain access to my car.  A part of me is scared that it’ll screw up the locks down the road.  I don’t want to front the cost unless my risky stocks make a comeback!
  • I’ve been wanting to improve my mental state of mind –> I started this blog and by documenting some of my thoughts, I am beginning to get more involved and get more organzied.
  • I’ve been wanting to lose those extra pounds –> I got to this stage by being lazy and eating junk food.  My metabolism has gone downhill fast in the last few years.  I’ve joined dodgeball recently forgoing working ($40) on Thursday nights.  Time for me to eat healthier and get off my butt to exercise.
Leave a Reply

