Groupon IPO on NASDAQ today!

4 Nov

I’ve been on the Groupon bandwagon over a year now… I’ve gotten many deals out of it… well from other similar sites.  Groupon is global operating at major cities offering heavily discounted local services and products.  They play the middle man and collect the fees!  Google wanted to buy Groupon out at $5 Billion, but the founder declined and started his own IPO into the NASDAQ.

Playing the IPO card is always risky.  The demand for Groupon is red hot.  Initial public offer for Groupon 35,000,000 @ $20/share = Market shares of $700 Million!  If google wanted to buy out Groupon for $5 Billion, the this stock has a lot of upward momentum from its inital IPO.  Always, the brokerage house gets first dips.  Shares soared to around $28ish!  That’s a big jump… everyone wants to get on board… that includes me. 

I set my price at $28.50 for a while, but it was trading up higher.  So I decided to set my price to $28.65 and bam, my order quickly went through.  Shortly after, the share price tumbles to low $28s… My impatience got the better of me.

Leave a Reply

