Topping up my Portfolio

9 Jan

QT TFSA:  340 @ $18.90/share – IPL.UN on TSE
For 2012, I’ve added another $5000 to my TFSA account.  Selling IPL.UN for POT was my biggest mistake in this account.  I sold IPL.UN out for 900 @ $16.13/share and bought POT 300 @ $47.00/share end of September.  At first, it seemed like a great idea as POT gained a few bucks in a matter of a few days.  However, I got greedy as always and held on, now POT is at $42.58/share vs IPL.UN at $18.90/share.  I am still holding POT at a loss, waiting for it to climb back up into the low $50s before moving on.

QT MARGIN:  100 @ $66.20/share – CLF on NYSE and 20 @ $344.81/share ($4685.09 of $6896.20 on Margin)- MA on NYSE
I was inactive during December which was a mistake as it was full of opportunities for me to scoop up some depreciated shares.  Now, I am paying for the price.  It is time for me to get back into the game and start waging on some stocks.  It’s been a while since I bought back into CLF, even though it’s not at the most attractive buy in price.  I think it might be able to hit $70/share.  As for MA, this is the only upside since I made my purchase last Wednesday.  This might be the support now, might be a good time to average down and see what will transpire in the next few days.

As of today, I am fully invested in all of my brokerage accounts.  Current Value:  $90,047.52.  Stock Count: 13.  My sights of $100k is within reach this year only if I keep a steady course of raking in $500/mo which seems impossible as I have too many different stocks pulling at different ways.

Leave a Reply

