Slow Month

17 Feb

February is proving to be a really slow month for trading.  At the moment, I’m going to sit pretty with my current stocks.  My portfolio consists of 12 stocks plus an ING Streetwise Fund.  It has gone up significantly in value over the last month.  So I’m going to let this bullish run ride out for a bit.

It’s that time again:  Tax Season.  Looks like I’ll be owing the taxman some money… unless I put a big portion into my RRSP.  I don’t really want to do that as I am expecting to take on a hefty mortgage in the next two years.  The deadline to contribute to your RRSPs for the year 2011 is March 1, 2012. 

I love online shopping where there is a deal to be had.  Yesterday was a splurge for me.  I ended up buying four items of cardigans/sweater from A&F worth $105.95.

Over the years, I’ve monitored my spendings and savings rigorously.  It’s a great way to keep track of where your money is going to.  Every year varies due to different expenses coming up.  However, I always try to save at least $10,000 or more a year.  I like to use my saved up money to make more money!  That is through my stock portfolio.  For the past few years, I’ve only managed very little capital gains. 

This year, my goal is to realize at least $6000 in capital gains from my stocks.  In order to do this, I have to trade bigger and more often for the rest of the year.  I better get a move on it… since I haven’t done any trading this month!

January 2012:  I realized a gain $392.36 in my margin account.  But I also sold at a loss of $376.12 in my RRSP account.  For tax reporting purposes, the RRSP doesn’t really count as a capital loss unless I take the money out of my RRSP.

Leave a Reply

