Milk Run

4 May

Our freezer was stocked up on frozen meat:  ribs, wings, chicken drumsticks, pork chops.  But our fridge was lacking milk and vegetables.

It was time for a milk run plus some other goodies!  I have a gift card to use at Costco, so I went there after work to pick up a few items just the other day.  Four items ended up costing me $25.28!  Spending sure does add up.  My guilty purchase was Haagen Dazs bars.  It was on sale for $11.49 from their regular price of $14.99.  Each bar cost $1.28 before tax.  I had one tonight, and it was so worth it!

Breakdown on what I spent at Costco:

  1. Milk- $4.63
  2. Asian Affair Pre-Mix Salad- $4.79
  3. Spinach Spring Mix- $2.99
  4. Haagen Dazs (9 bars)- $11.49 (Sale)

Costco is an exclusive warehouse retailer that charges a membership fee to their customers for shopping at their big box stores.  They are extremely popular and have a  loyal customer base.  Why are these people paying $55/yr for Gold Membership or $110/yr for Executive Membership just to shop there?  Costco focuses on selling products at low prices, often at very high volume. These goods are usually bulk-packaged and marketed primarily to large families and businesses.  People shop there so they can save money or so I think!  I must admit, Costco has a really good deal with their quarter pound hotdog and pop for $1.50.  Their fries are to die for as well!

I am thinking to myself as I browse through their aisles, “Am I really saving that much by shopping at Costco?”  Look at the price of the milk, I thought milk would be a little cheaper at Costco than other grocery stores.  But I think $4.63 for a four liter jug is comparable to stores like Superstore or Walmart where anyone can shop there!  Maybe if I crossed the border to shop at Costco, it’ll be more advantageous.  Everything down south is much cheaper from gas to cheese, and I would assume milk as well!  It’s not fair, why do I live in such an expensive city?

All I am saying here is Costco is not the best deal in town unless you spend a lot in groceries and love to buy stuff.  Personally, I would not be a member of Costco as I am minimalist.  Sure, I would tag along with  a friend who has membership to shop there from time to time, but it’s not worth my money to pay Costco to shop there!  I don’t spend enough to make it worthwhile.

2 Responses to “Milk Run”

  1. Alex May 4, 2012 at 2.33 #

    milk sure is pricey out west =o cheapest here is at shoppers, for 4.19. used to be 3.99. i went grocery shopping today too, and spent around 25 also lol.

    • agentfang May 4, 2012 at 2.33 #

      Maybe, I should check out the price at Shoppers for milk next time. LOL, I hope you bought more stuff than I did! I only buy what I need really… the salad mix is an easy veggie dish!

Leave a Reply

