Weekend Reading

5 May

It’s been ages since I went to a library until recently!  I hate to admit it, but I used to go quite often to the romance section.  For the past few years, I’ve been a working zombie and had little time to myself.  Now, I live within a five-minute walk to a local library.  This gives me the convenience to clear my mind and fill my brain with wonderful literature on personal well-being.  My phase of romance books is long gone.

I am looking to enrich myself by discovering other personal finance blogs online.  I never knew how many others alike were out there till recently.  It’s a wonderful community.  I never really participate by making comments on their blogs, but I do enjoy reading about their personal goals in life whether they’re getting out of debt to investing in stocks.  Everyone is different, I strive to keep up with my savings and investing in the market goals.

Last weekend I finished reading, “Idiot Millionaire by Derek Foster.”  This was his fifth book in personal finance series.  All I can say this was an easy read.  It is easy for him to say you can also become an idiot millionaire by investing fool proofed dividend stocks that we use in everyday life essentials.  He writes a list of his top picks from different sectors and adds why they are good for the long haul.  From what I heard, Derek Foster got lucky and he used a lot of leveraging to achieve his first million in the stock market.  Now, I am curious how he retired at the age of 34 and how exactly did he do it?  So I decided to go to the library last night and grab his first book on how he got started!

Here is a list of my weekend readings:

  • Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner
  • Start late, Finish Rich by David Bach
  • Stop Working- Here’s How YOU Can by Derek Foster (1st book in series)

 

 

Leave a Reply

