Portfolio Makeover

19 May

May has been disastrous for me.  Within a few days, all my paper gains were wiped out.  On Thursday, I pulled the plug on my losers and winners.   In hindsight, I should have pulled the trigger earlier, but I was hopeful that the next day would turn around.  This has been the most upsetting week for me.  Back to the drawing board once again.  I still have 8 stocks left mostly in my RRSP and TFSA account.  I am not going to buy anything for now till I see a good opportunity for me to jump in.

Oh yes, I did buy Facebook on Friday, May 18th!  I was in/out… $41.15/$41.40.  I got spooked, and it was the right call in the end of it.  Personally, I don’t like FB as a stock, I think it’s overvalued.  But I wanted to see if I can make a few bucks (Woohoo, I made $15!).

I shouldn’t have sold out on Shaw Cable.  It’s relatively a safe stock, I was just impatient and I wanted to be out of margin.

My gamble in Apple finally made me realize that I am a bad gambler!  I should have sold you when I was in the green, but as a gambler, I wanted to see more out of you which led to my own demise.

As for Cliff Natural Resources, this is the first time I had to take a loss in you!  You’ve never disappointed me before, but this time you did.  I still think you’re a great stock with potential.

Mastercard has always been resilient, but lately it’s been losing ground really fast.  I needed to capture whatever gain I have before it gets wiped out.

I am very sad to say goodbye to an old stock:  My beloved Starbucks.  We’ve been through a lot in the last few years.  You broke my heart when you pulled back from a high of $62.  I did not want to see you dip below $50s, so I had to let you go!  I think I can afford to go drink your specialty coffees from time to time.  Thank you!

It’s time to come up with another strategy.  Limit my losses as much as possible.  Don’t let the stock get out of hand.  Always have the upper hand over your stocks!  Don’t let it control you.

Leave a Reply

