Hindsight

20 Jun

Over a month ago, I sold off my positions in Apple and Cliff Natural Resources at a big loss.  Also, I let go of my winners like Mastercard and Starbucks to even out the playing field.  By selling those positions, I’ve loaded some unhealthy stocks into my portfolio like a penny stock which shall remain nameless and Google.  Those two stocks alone is giving me a paper loss of $4,000.  I will be stuck with these paper losses till it comes roaring back.  For now, I’m inactive in my portfolio.  It’s going into dormant stages.

SOLD @ May 17th VS If I had kept positions @ June 20:
APPL- $535 vs $585
CLF- $50.50 vs $52.55
MA- $406 vs $429
SBUX- $52.00 vs $55.55
COP- $51.60 vs $54.65 (I replaced COP for GOOG on May 21st)

My biggest mistake in this whole time is jumping in on GOOG instead of AAPL when Apple was showing signs of recovery at May 21st.  AAPL went up, GOOG went down.  All the while, I just hung on with the hopes it’ll follow in suit.  As you can tell, that never transpired. 

It’s been a while since I blogged about stocks.  I’m kind of mad at myself for selling out at the wrong time.  Now, I’m stuck with a big loss with not much room to maneuver.  Patience is key!  Never listen to others~

4 Responses to “Hindsight”

  1. Liquid June 20, 2012 at 2.33 #

    No worries . It happens to the best of us. At least all the stocks you picked are clear winners in their respective fields, and I own a couple of them myself. Since we’re talking US stocks, I have my eye on MetLife right now. Its P/E is pretty cheap and the demographics makes sense for this company in the long run. I might buy them later this year.

    • agentfang June 20, 2012 at 2.33 #

      Personally, I’m not a big fan of insurance. Maybe, I’ve dabbled with Manulife before and didn’t get much out of it, but the PE ratio on MFC is HORRIBLE hehe.

      MetLife, yes it looks pretty solid and it’s trading near its 52 wk low. Shows signs of an upward trend. I would have liked to see a quarterly dividend than yearly, but still a good divi payout. I like how they have Snoopy on their site so cute!

  2. Alex June 22, 2012 at 2.33 #

    just got back from my vacation.

    this kind of stuff happens quite often to me too.
    to some degree, this is just risk management (hedging). selling some holdings to reduce portfolio risk is similar to buying put options, or selling out of the money calls.

    its like buying home insurance. still useful even if your home does not burn down.

    • agentfang June 25, 2012 at 2.33 #

      Nice, where did you go for your vacation?

      Yes, it’s all about preserving your capital… you do not want to see it get wiped out by a downturn. How much you can handle?

Leave a Reply

