Collecting from Stocks- June Recap

30 Jun

There wasn’t any trades in June except for one BUY transaction:  CHE.UN – 300 shares @ $14.60 in my Scotia Itrade Margin account.  Scotia Itrade recently updated its website look.  With this change, their commission based price jumped from $19.99 to $24.99 per trade for assets under $50,000.  I am not too happy, but I’ll still keep my account active with the stocks that I’m currently holding.  Maybe this is a good sign to encourage me not to trade as often.

For the month of June 2012, I’ve collected a total of $216.14 in distributions from my unit trusts:

BPF.UN: $19.60
CHE.UN: $151.00
IPL.UN: $37.54
KEG.UN:  $8.00

All of my unit trusts are making me money except for CHE.UN!  Yet, I have the biggest stake in this particular unit trust.  Yes, I made the mistake of buy it at the wrong time.  Now, I deal with the consequences of being impatient and wanting to get into the stock when my capital was available.  The one problem I have is never wanting any freed up money to be sitting in cash.  That’s my pet peeve.  So I always try to buy a stock or unit trust right away which can be disastrous.

Never buy at the top, I’ve been hit hard by Apple… but if you believe in the company, please HOLD instead of selling out like I did on Apple.  Usually, I am a true stickler, but I just snapped during that week when everything was crashing down day after day.  Frustration and fear took over me leading to my own demise now.  Stuck with losses up to my neck.  Climbing out of the red will  be hard, but if I just forget about it and let my distributions flow… I’ll be ahead by not selling anything at a loss.

2 Responses to “Collecting from Stocks- June Recap”

  1. Liquid July 2, 2012 at 2.33 #

    I feel you girl. We’ve all made poor investment decisions like that lol. Sounds like a scumbag move by Itrade to just change the rules on their clients. You have like $100K of stocks though right. At TD they calculate your portfolio worth based on household assets. Hope that’s the case with Scotiabank too.

    • agentfang July 2, 2012 at 2.33 #

      Most of my assets are with Questrade actually. I have like three accounts with them from margin, RRSP and TFSA. Questrade also raised their margin rates from 4.5% to 6%… not too happy about that! Maybe it’s time for me to switch back to Waterhouse.

      Itrade is an older account, and kept my older stocks with them so I dont qualify for the reduced commissions!

Leave a Reply

