Blast from the Past

13 Jul

Rule#1:  Warren Buffet never invests in the technology sector.  He likes simple companies that produces a steady growing revenue stream where he knows it will continue to flourish through bad and good times.

Technology is fast and ever changing the landscape of the world we live in.  No one wants an outdated device.  We’re always intrigue by gadgets that enhances our lifestyles.  We’ve come a long ways out of the Dotcom Bubble to where we are now.

A lot of Blackberry loyalist are switching over to touch screen smartphone devices for more added cool features that Blackberries can’t keep up anymore.  Thus the big collapse of the all mighty Research in Motion Limited.  Blackberries are becoming a thing of the past and will eventually be distant memory.

Trading at its 52 week low of $7.35 per share.  RIM is on its last breath of life.  I used to be a shareholder of RIM just over a year ago.  Can you imagine it trading at $50+ a share?  A sense of relieve washes over me.  Even though, I sold RIM at a loss for holding it for a month.  I walked away from a company that was spiralling on a disastrous path.  Good riddance.

Apr 6-May 3, 2011 RIM 200 10684.95 9195.05 ($1,489.90) -13.94%
6 Responses to “Blast from the Past”

  1. Alex July 13, 2012 at 2.33 #

    yikes that coulda been real bad if you still had it… close call 🙂
    btw following you on twitter 😛

    • agentfang July 13, 2012 at 2.33 #

      I was lucky that I cut my losses when I did…

      My coworker still has some shares of RIM… he believes RIM will come back!! Poor guy, he bought at a way way higher price than I did!

      Cool, following you as well. Korean drama! LOL, ever watch the Full House series? I caught that and really liked it!

      • Alex July 14, 2012 at 2.33 #

        lol. my friend has some from around $40 as well.i told him when it was 40, that it was going to 20. when it hit 20, i said it was getting worse, and going to 10.

        naw, i havent seen a lot of the classics. the only classics i’ve seen are autumn fairytale, winter sonata, and sassy girl. i like the more modern styles, less tragic romance, better endings, and more plot. like Brain, Pasta, IRIS, Athena, City Hunter, Baker King Kim Tak Gu. kdrama has evolved a lot since the early 2000s!

      • agentfang July 15, 2012 at 2.33 #

        Oh I watched the Spring Waltz part of the Endless Love series. I’ll try to catch the Winter Sonata on Youtube and try to catch the other modern ones to see for myself 🙂 Thx

  2. Liquid July 14, 2012 at 2.33 #

    I bought both RIM and Apple because I want to play the smart phone market but didn’t know (back in 2011) who would do better. Between these 2 stocks overall I have a paper loss 😦 but I’m not worried because what’s done is done. I’ll just hold on to both companies and see what happens. Now if only I had Google as well, lol. I bet if one had all 3 of these companies, and waited 5 to 10 years, then on average he would probably have a very nice capital appreciation because regardless how these 3 companies fight for market share they are the only relevant software companies making mobile devices right now, and this industry is still growing pretty strong. I don’t watch Korean dramas, but my Korean friend does, and he recommended “secret garden” to me. Haven’t had time to check it out yet.

    • agentfang July 15, 2012 at 2.33 #

      The market is really unpredictable… some stocks will rise above all… some will hang in there… some will falter and become a thing of the past. Don’t dwell too much on your picks… we’ve all been there! You mentioned GOOG, I’ve made the mistake of buying them at a high price… now stuck with a loss. I’ll continue to hold and see if they can come back! I wonder how the smartphone will evolve in the next few years!! Full of features packed into a small device 🙂

      I’ll put Secret Garden to my to watch list!

Leave a Reply

