It’s time to get back on track again!

20 Sep

Zombie state, midnight, don’t know quite what to say.  Selling out has been a real blow to me for the past few months.  It’s time for me to face the reality of the losses and move on.  I’ve been stagnant in the stock world.  Work these days doesn’t give me a whole lot of time to think about stocks.  Maybe it’s a good thing since the few stocks I own are slowing climbing out of its hole and churning out some profits.  Sitting on a pile of cash waiting to be deployed.  I waited too long since the market has been on the upswing in the last while.

An update on my portfolio, it’s a little lighter and I’ve gotten rid of the bad seeds.  Time for me to add some good paying dividend stocks or even a unit trust.


Cliff Natural Resources struggled in recent months, the bottom was at $32.00 per share.  I was thinking of averaging down, but in the end, I didn’t want to endanger my portfolio with a beat up company.  Since then, it’s been trying to make its way back.  I’ll be holding onto this one for a while since it’s in my QT RRSP account.  Lesson: If the company is down, but it’s still a good company.. take a risk and buy some.

As always, I tend to sell out.  From the beginning, Google struggled in the weeks that followed my buy in price.  It went down and down and all I was seeing was red.  So I set out a sell limit at $620.00 for half of my shares.  For weeks, I didn’t really paid attention to my portfolio. Low and behold, it met my price and bam, it sold.  Now, Google stands tall at $100 above my sell out price.  Lesson: Give it some time, keep the good ones close by.

For BMO and Chemtrade Logistic, I’ve wagered big on them in terms of shares.  Yet, I haven’t seen much price appreciation from them. Finally, BMO raised their dividend to $0.72/share after so many years.  While other banks have been steadily raising their dividends year after year.  I should have bought into Royal Bank, but it’s the choice I made.  Chemtrade pays a monthly $0.10/unit.  So I’ve been collecting $181.00 each month.  I’ll continue to hold and wait.  Lesson:  Be patient to those who rewards you monthly or quarterly.

As for my lone penny stellar stock, it’s has fallen from its high of $4.50 per share.  I could have cashed out and walked away with a wonderful big fat wallet, but I had hopes of it going all the way to the big boys.  That’s not the case.  Lesson:  Sometimes, it’s best to cash out before it comes crashing down.

I regret selling out my other unit truss, they have flourished to no end in sight.  I really had some good ones that I let go time and time again.  Sometimes, I just have that itchy finger to push the sell button.  Lesson:  Long term has its advantages in unit trusts where steady stream of income and price appreciation are not too far off in the distance.

One more thought, I don’t think I’ll ever listen to anyone about stocks anymore that’s where I got into trouble.  I think I do best on my own with my own style of investing.

2 Responses to “It’s time to get back on track again!”

  1. Alex Yang (@yyangalex) September 22, 2012 at 2.33 #

    sounds like a good plan.i try not to look in the rear view mirror too much. easy to get caught in a web of what ifs

  2. agentfang September 23, 2012 at 2.33 #

    Absolutely right, though I tend to be a stickler haha.

Leave a Reply

