Cheap Dining

11 Oct

Tonight, I decided to make The Poorman’s Meal courtesy of Clara.  Poorman’s Meal consists of affordable items like onion, potatoes and wieners.  I decided to add celery to make it a greener dish instead of just meat and potatoes.  Seasoning:  3 spoonfuls of salsa and salt, please add some water to soften the potatoes.

Breakdown of Costs:

0.20 for 1 onion
0.41 for 2 potatoes
0.00 for 3 wieners (handout)
0.42 for 3 pcs of celery
1.97 for 1 can of Chunky Clam Chowder as side dish (Estimated)
$3.00 for a hearty meal to satisfy two adults plus some leftovers for next day’s lunch!

Everyone can make this.  It’s a simple recipe and tastes just fine.  There are lots of items out there that are affordable and tasty versus going the easy way out like eating out at a restaurant.  Just have to find the right combination to make them work.  I love surfing on YouTube for recipes and ideas.  Sharing really does give others the opportunity to learn and accept for what’s being put out there.  The net is a vast highway for information.  Use it wisely.

Last week, I went out with some friends to a Thai restaurant.  We had papaya salad, stuffed chicken wings, tom yum soup, penang curry, pad thai.  The portions were small.  So between the four of us, we ordered double for everything except for the papaya salad and a couple of pop drinks.  At Thai restaurants, they charge extra for a bowl of rice.  When the bill came, it was $105.00 after taxes!  We split it four ways and decided on a round number of $30 per person giving the restaurant a very nice $15 tip!  Normally, I tip out 10% before tax.  Since it’s a group outing, I didn’t want to cheap out as they agreed on $30 per person.  That was a very expensive meal for me!  And it’s not even fine dining!  Yes, the food was good, but was it really worth it?

So the next day, I went out for Cantonese Cafe restaurant for my mom’s early birthday dinner.  It was just my parents, bf and moi.  We showed up at 5pm after work to get in on their daily special menu.  So between the four of us, we ordered fish maw soup, salty fish fried rice, beef vermicelli noodles, and house special fried chow mien.  Three of the dishes came with a hot drink or add $1 for cold drink… I just had tea!  Our bellies were full and our taste buds were satisfied.  When the bill came, I was happy to see that it wasn’t going to cost me an arm and a leg.  I ended up treating everyone for a grand total of $38.25 and that includes 10% tip!

Moral of the story:  Don’t order too much, you’ll end up spending more than you like.  Don’t eat too much, you’ll get fat. 

Even though, I found a higher paying job a couple months ago.  I didn’t automatically spend a whole bunch of money on new work clothes.  Scavenging in my closet to make due for my new work attire requirement which is business casual.  It’s hard after years of wearing casual tops and jeans to work for my previous work.  Most of my old work pants don’t fit anymore.  So far, I only added one new dress pant to my collection and a few tops.  I try to minimize my spending as much as possible.  Living below my means is a way of life for me and I am proud to say it out loud.

Ever since I moved out from my parents, I have been eating out less and less for lunch (new job) and dinner.  Over the ten months, I’ve lost a good ten pounds.  You can say I lost a pound a month!  Still a little extra fat on certain areas of my body that I would love to get rid of, especially my tummy!  It’s a work in progress.

4 Responses to “Cheap Dining”

  1. Liquid October 13, 2012 at 2.33 #

    Cool recipe. I think I’ll try it with spaghetti sauce or salsa with mine. What a nice lady. I enjoyed listening to her stories. Who needs a high school diploma anyway if you have a PhD in thrift and humility 😀

    • agentfang October 15, 2012 at 2.33 #

      It’s amazing how people recount the past like that. I never grew up with older people, so watching her talk is refreshing!

  2. theoutliermodel October 14, 2012 at 2.33 #

    I make something similar actually using chorizo, potatoes and onion. I sort of do it as a scalloped potato casserole, layering with paprika and butter, and sprinkle cheese on top – yum!

    • agentfang October 15, 2012 at 2.33 #

      Sounds delicious… a step higher than the PoorMan’s Meal 🙂 Cheese is always welcome in my dish! Next time, I’ll try that!

Leave a Reply

