Fajita Chicken & Veggie Wrap

15 Oct

Dinner for one!  Tonight, I decided to whip up a simple and a relatively healthy meal for myself!  It was an easy and to top things off, it was quite tasty.  I marinated the chicken with soy sauce and seasoning salt before putting it into the pan.  Add a little oil, and then stir fry the chicken with the mixed vegetables.  For additional flavor, I add some fish sauce for taste.

Here is the breakdown of my meal in monetary terms:
2 pieces of Tortillas – 0.21
Small pieces of Chicken Breast- 0.40
Pepperjack Cheese- 0.22
Small portion of Broccoli- 0.20
1 chopped pickle- 0.10
Half a celery stalk- 0.07
Onion/Garlic- 0.05
Total cost of Fajitas- $1.25 estimated

I really need the cleansing after a state run from Sunday.  For breakfast, BF and I ended up having breakfast at McDonald’s costing us $11.05.  We had a late lunch at Jack in the Box… I never been there and wanted to try it out.  Two combo burger meals ended being $14.53.  The sourdough burger with tomato, bacon, cheese was tasty.  However, it was on the greasy side.  It was junk food galore day!  After we got home, we weren’t too hungry so we decided to go green.  Opened up half a bag of romaine salad: $0.94 / three tomatoes: $0.79 / boiled three eggs: $0.83 for protein / leftover cucumbers: free / leftover yams: free.  Total cost for making salad at home: $2.56.

I ended up buy two pair of dress pants for work from Banana Republic outlets for $38.xx each.  Regular price was at $79 less 30% discount plus additional 25% from BF’s work discount card!  So that was a good deal!  I was happy with my purchase.  BF bought a pair of Nikes for recreational play and a Banana Republic sweater for cheap.  We didn’t buy a whole lot.  Just buying what we needed really.

For groceries, I didn’t buy too much.  Reason being was we still have lots of meat in our freezer.  Spent $54.89 in total.  This included a pepper grinder ($7.57) and a 2 gallon glass jar ($10.83) to store our rice.  Milk in states was only $2.58 vs our CAD price of $4.65… almost 55% cheaper!

I also filled up a full tank of gas at $4.39 per gallon.  The gas station near the border is higher than the ones further south.  But I was low on gas when we crossed so I ended up forking over $47.18.  Still a little cheaper than my usually fill ups at $55-58.

It nice to cross the border with the idea of spending money down there!  Lots of people are crossing the border to fill up on gas, buy good quality apparel for discounted price, stock up on cheaper groceries since our Canadian is almost at par with the American dollar.  I’d go down there more often, but the gas and the long line ups at the border does discourage me from doing so.  Unless I pick up a Nexus pass to blow by everyone!

8 Responses to “Fajita Chicken & Veggie Wrap”

  1. Liquid October 15, 2012 at 2.33 #

    I like how milk is pretty much half price down there lol. Eggs are a good deal too. You know what’s good with fajitas? Roasted garlic and chili aioli sauce from Costco, they come in squeezable bottles. Shopping in the US is always fun. You guys didn’t miss much up here. It was just rainy the whole time 🙂

    • agentfang October 15, 2012 at 2.33 #

      The border line up was a buzz killer… picked the wrong lane heading there and back! Haha, it also rained down there… there was a period when it stopped only for a few hours. Ohh… that chilli aioli sounds really with garlic sounds really good… I’ll check it out when I shop at costco next! Nice to get out of Vancouver for a bit even for a day.

      • Alex Yang (@yyangalex) October 16, 2012 at 2.33 #

        i heard some border guard got shot in broad daylight at that border crossing!! wow!

        i think the best thing about being asian is the stuff our culture eat is super cheap at the store lol. veggies, meat, rice, done, got yourself a nice balanced meal.

      • agentfang October 17, 2012 at 2.33 #

        I guess the border guard pissed off the frustrated driver! Yes, we eat relatively healthy… and it really helps the budget too. You forgot noodles… though I eat rice most of the time. Noodles are for the quick fixes. Cheap veggies I find are potato, carrot, celery, broccoli. Peppers are pricey!

  2. Alex Yang (@yyangalex) October 18, 2012 at 2.33 #

    really? the chinese vegetables are super cheap here. they all look the same to me though. cant really tell the difference. all green, leafy, and sold in big bundles and have names that end with choy ><

    • agentfang October 19, 2012 at 2.33 #

      Ohh I only listed the few veggies… I hardly buy green leafy ones… I should though! Sometimes I dont want to eat that big bundle.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. freedom 35, Google shares drop sharply - October 18, 2012

    […] some ideas for cheap and simple meals to make at home? Agentfang recommends DIY chicken fajitas, or fried […]

  2. freedom 35, burritos and blog roundup - November 4, 2012

    […] another note, I was inspired by agent Fang’s wraps and decided to make my own version. I like to call it the 5 minute breakfast burrito. Because it […]

Leave a Reply

