My mind is wondering…

19 Oct

Towards my stock portfolio again.  Just a couple of days ago, my Google and other stocks were making a stride into the greener pastures.  I was giddy and giggles.  Suddenly, Google announced a 15% decrease in earnings just ruined EVERYTHING.  My 20% plus gain in Google shrunk in a span of a few hours in the morning.  I wasn’t even paying attention till a fellow blogger, Freedom Thirty Five, pointed out Google’s sudden 10% drop.

Tonight, I’ve been just staring at my portfolio.  Mulling…Where have I gone wrong for 2012?  My greediness and impatience have led me to my own demise.  Undisciplined in my own core values. Giving up and selling good stocks when I should have kept them.  Holding over appreciated stocks and not capitalizing on the gains.  Listening to bad advice about a couple of penny stocks that have cost me $8,000 in capital losses.  Not participating when the markets were down after May 2012.  Perking up only recently to get my arse whoop again by unforgiving markets.

My impatience is screaming at me to sell whatever gain you have left of Google which is about $1700.  Should I sell or just keep it?  I really don’t want to hold this when it comes down below my buy in price.  Ok, I think I will only sell if my gains will dip below $1500.  That’s my tolerance.

I held many good stocks and sold out.  Could this be just one of the many that I let go?

5 Responses to “My mind is wondering…”

  1. Alex Yang (@yyangalex) October 21, 2012 at 2.33 #

    lol i was gonna write about GOOG but then i saw everyone is blogging about it >< haha

    • agentfang October 21, 2012 at 2.33 #

      I like your insight on Google!

      Sent from my HTC

  2. Liquid October 22, 2012 at 2.33 #

    GOOG has been falling for 3 days in a row so tech analysis dictates it will most likely go lower. I don’t know if you should sell though. The other question is if you sell, do you plan to get back in at a later date? If so, then it’s up to how confident you feel about your ability to time it properly :0)

    Thanks for the mention. Don’t worry too much about it. Similar thing happened to me earlier this year with SNC Lavalin, except that was somewhat different because the company made deals with a murderous dictator. You can look up the symbol SNC and look at what happened in February. A big drop of 20% :0( But I held on and didn’t sell. I’m about 10% in the red, but I think it will come back eventually.

    • agentfang October 22, 2012 at 2.33 #

      Hmm, I’ll see tmr if it holds … under $1500 profit I’m selling.

Leave a Reply

