Food Bill Analysis

30 Nov

Eating out is an easy, convenient route to satisfy your hunger.  Yet, this miscellaneous spending category can seriously make a dent in your budget if you don’t try to limit your outings for food!   Treating others to a meal I think is the most costly to your own food budget.  It’s nice to be generous from time to time, but never let it get out of hand where you get nothing in return!

For the past year, I have cut down on going out to eat.  Making most of my meals at home from breakfast to dinners have reduced my food bill dramatically, but there are times where I long for some tasty delights that I can not concoct myself.  My suggestion is try to find a balance.

Setting a budget for food is great, but if you go over your limit, does that mean you’ll have to starve yourself for the rest of the month?  It’s okay to go a little over budget for food since it is an essential item to keep you alive!  Just make sure for the next month, you try to not repeat the same mistake again in overspending for food.

On a monthly average, I spend $278.18 in total for food.  I usually spend $124.40 on groceries (BF & ME) and $153.78 on miscellaneous eating out.  Month to month, it does fluctuate depending on the occasion.

November 2012: $250.13

Groceries:  $70.03

Eating out: $180.10.  Break down below:

  1. Treated BF for dinners $98.18 (Cause of my reduced rent)
  2. Treated friend for dinner- $36.84
  3. My own dinners & snacks- $19.36
  4. Groupon for 2 burgers & drinks- $14.00
  5. Lunches at work- $11.72

 

2 Responses to “Food Bill Analysis”

  1. Liquid November 30, 2012 at 2.33 #

    I track my food spending as well. I have one category for groceries and several columns for misc spending, which includes spots for eating out. I find an easy way to balance the food budget is allocate more money to groceries because you often get more food for the same price as eating out. The only thing is you have to prepare the meal yourself, but that’s okay ;0)

    • agentfang November 30, 2012 at 2.33 #

      You are totally right on increasing budget to groceries, that way you’re get more meals out of it than a one time thing from eating out. I guess the trick to spicing up the meals you make is to try new different recipes! I find myself cooking more or less the same thing on a repetitive scale, so that’s why I break down and go out to eat 🙂

Leave a Reply

