Patience wins this time!

3 Dec

It’s been a month since I had a black out from the android world!  There have been many times where I wanted to pay a premium for short on supply Nexus 4.  But there was an inkling of hope that I can still buy it for MSRP at the Google Play store.

Today at 10:35AM, I received an email from Google announcing Nexus 4 would be available at NOON PST.  Excited, I hunkered down at my desktop… ready to spring into action with my F5 key.  I wanted to get the 8gb version, only to be disappointed when it didn’t go live at noon.  What was going on?  Google lies again!!

Later, my friend told me that the 16gb is available for sale, so I went over to add the 16gb version to my cart.  It took me a few tries to proceed to checkout, each time it didn’t go through, it stated:  “We experiencing higher than normal traffic, please try again.”  Low and behold, I finally got through and got an order confirmation!  It’s a little more than what I wanted to pay for the Nexus 4.  At least, I can put a lot of crap on this phone for years to come!

Now, I have secured a Nexus 4.  The wait begins as this device won’t ship out to me in 3-4 weeks time.  Hope that I receive it before Christmas.  My office is closed for the holidays… really hope UPS doesn’t just drop ship at the front entrance!

It’s a long and frustrating journey to just buy a piece of  pure android, but I’m glad that I waited instead of giving in!  Just last night, I was about to buy Sony Xperia Ion LT28i, 12MP, 16GB…

This is my Christmas present to myself 🙂

Side Note: 8gb version never did come up for sale for this second release for Canadians.  Limit was 1 per account.  I noticed the 16gb version was up for sale for an hour before it sold out again… delivery times became longer and longer.  Last I saw was 7-8 weeks for delivery.

2 Responses to “Patience wins this time!”

  1. Alex Yang (@yyangalex) December 3, 2012 at 2.33 #

    congrats 🙂 i’m still using my Galaxy S2. i think its only a year and a half old lol, but i guess in the mobile phone world that is like using a 4 yr old computer!

    • agentfang December 3, 2012 at 2.33 #

      Thanks, thought it was out of stock for good till next year lol… well the Galaxy S2 is still a very good phone. No need to upgrade till it craps out on you. My HTC Desire Z worked just fine, but it had a few kinks that I didn’t like. Slide in key pad that I never use (bulky), pics that I took did not show up in my gallery properly, and when I exited apps, it would lag… I got the phone for free when I signed my contract and manage to sell it for $90 on good old craigslist 🙂

Leave a Reply

