Quick Buy -> Quick Buy Mistake

11 Jan

Inspired by Liquid, I am putting myself heavier into margin.  What is a margin?  Well, it’s money borrowed from your discount stock brokerage.  They will charge you interest, till you pay them back for the amount you borrowed.

Today, I bought PWT on the Toronto Stock Exchange.  Originally, I only intended to buy 300 shares.  But as I was multi-tasking between screens, I accidentally placed another additional 300 shares.  Now, I am left with 600 shares paying commission twice.  Don’t worry, I only pay $4.95 per trade.  But I am not pleased with myself.

This buy is a 2-3 week swing trade for me.  I anticipate PWT will go up by $1.00/share in the next few weeks.  Trading at its 52 week low, there might be a dead mouse bounce.  Or I could be wrong.  I got a tip, tips usually don’t work out for me.  But worth a try, LOL!

Disclosure:  Please do your own due diligence before putting money into any investments.  Do not mimic my trades as I am a casual amateur trader, not all my stocks are profitable.

3 Responses to “Quick Buy -> Quick Buy Mistake”

  1. Liquid January 13, 2013 at 2.33 #

    Your commission is half what mine is 😛 Good luck with PWT. Swing trading can be quite fun.

    • agentfang January 15, 2013 at 2.33 #

      Yea, Questrade is cheap but not the most user friendly. I always look for no fee or low fee accounts even though I suffer sometimes with their interface.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Investment and Resource Conferences | Freedom 35 Blog - January 19, 2013

    […] a matching plan if your employer offers one. Simply investing shares his top 10 posts of last year. Agent fang on buying her new stock Penn West (PWT) using the power of leverage from her margin account. My […]

Leave a Reply

