Trade Alert

25 Jan
  1. Jan 25th- Sold CHE.UN in RRSP: 240 @ $16.48/share  |  Loss $24.00
  2. Jan 25th- Sold WYN on Margin: 100 @ $56.80/share  |  Gain $310.00
  3. Jan 25th- Sold AAPL in TFSA: 10 @ $441.50/share  |  Loss $703.94
  4. Jan 25th- Bought MA in RRSP: 10 @ $519.75/share
  5. Jan 25th- Bought V in TFSA: 27 @ $159.60/share
  6. Jan 25th- Bought INTC on Margin:  500 @ $20.99/share

Time to shake things up a bit.  I needed to infuse my portfolio with some good stable companies, so I decided to cut my losses in Chemtrade and Apple to buy Mastercard and Visa.

Chemtrade:  I’ve been overweight in Chemtrade for a while, the stock price has been flat ever since I bought into it.  However, I collected $0.10 per share each month from them, thus why, I kept it for so long.  I still have 300 shares left in my margin account and 1270 share in my TFSA.

Wynn:  This was bought on October 5, 2012 on purely margin.  I was looking for price appreciation.  The price on this stock was depressed for most of the time I held it.  Finally, it made a break for higher ground, so I decided to sell at a gain before it bottoms up again.

Apple:  I was up $500 on this baby when I held it in the first few days.  In hindsight, I should have sold it and taken the profit as I was on 100% margin.  But I decided to move the funds over to my TFSA where it ultimately cost me dearly.  Analysts are beating up Apple over its latest earnings report.  I still think Apple is a great company, but I can’t hold it any longer with losses up to my eyes.

Mastercard and Visa:  Both stocks, I have owned before and regretted selling them too early.  Now, I re-buy them at a higher price.  I am looking to hold them for a while to see if they will churn out even more gains.

Intel:  Bought this purely to make up some ground for my Apple loss.  Upcoming dividend of $0.2250/share will surely bring up the price a bit for the next week.

2 Responses to “Trade Alert”

  1. Alex Yang (@yyangalex) January 26, 2013 at 2.33 #

    wow those are some big moves. i feel Intel will need more time to turn the stock around, but V and MA are pretty good bets if the US economy continues to strengthen.

    • agentfang January 26, 2013 at 2.33 #

      Thanks for your opinions, Alex. I will be careful with INTC, I am not looking for a long hold. When I get bored at work… that is what happens -_-

Leave a Reply

