Lazy Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

7 Mar

This morning, I woke up 30 minutes earlier to throw a bunch of ingredients together into my slow cooker crock pot.  I found a recipe online where I had most of the ingredients at home.  The only thing I didn’t have was a potato, so I substitute it with a tomato instead.

Season the chicken broth with salt and dried thyme, then add seasoning salt, paprika, garlic powder to the chicken thigh.  Throw in all the veggies first then pour the broth over it before adding the chicken thighs on top.  A quick easy and cheap meal that will feed two adults:

3 chicken thighs- $1.562
carrots- $0.76
1 tomato- $0.63
quarter onion- $0.25
1 can chicken broth- $0.69
1 cup of rice- $0.26
Total Meal $4.15

Chicken Thigh Cooking in Crock Pot

This is what it looked like when I got home from work! All I have to do is cook my rice, then it’s time to eat!

All plated ready to eat!

Voila, here is what it looks like before I gobbled it down. The chicken was a bit dry, maybe it’s a slow cooker thing. I did leave it in for a good 8 hours when recipe only indicated 6 hours.

Leave a Reply

