ING Direct introduces mobile deposit!

18 Jun

As you all know I am an ING Direct customer, I have their banking application on my mobile phone.  Today, I found out their cool feature of mobile deposit.  I decided to login to check it out for myself.  But I couldn’t find the new “deposit” feature on the bottom tabs.  A light bulb clicked, I haven’t updated my ING Direct app yet!  So I scooted over to my play store apps to update the newest version for ING Direct.  Voila, I am now able to snap pics of my cheque to make a deposit!

Step 1:  Select your account

Step 2:  Enter the amount of your cheque

Step 3:  Take a picture of your cheque front and back

Step 4:  Wait for confirmation

Step 5:  After ING Direct reviews your cheque, they will approve it or not.  Once approved, you can destroy your cheque.

ING DIrect Mobile Deposit

Hmm, looks like I’ll still have to deposit my monthly pay cheque at the ABM. At least, I have a credit union across the street from my work. PHEW!

Canadian banks are slow to act while other countries in the world have already adopted mobile cheque deposits as a daily occurrence.  Finally, ING Direct has joined the new wave of internet banking making it easier for Canadian customers to make a deposit without stepping foot into the bank.  However, there is a limit to the amount of money you can make a deposit with.  Anything over $1500, you would have to go to the bank physically to deposit the cheque at the ABM or bank teller.  Otherwise, you are free to snap pictures of your cheque and make a deposit directly into your bank account in your PJs.

UPDATE:  My mobile deposit limit is now $25,000!  

ING loves me!

I’m a valued customer with:

$800/daily cash limit
$2500/debit limit
$5000/hold limit on cheques

2 Responses to “ING Direct introduces mobile deposit!”

  1. Alex Yang (@yyangalex) June 19, 2013 at 2.33 #

    great for writing checks to yourself to avoid the interbank transfer fees =P
    hahaha

    • agentfang June 20, 2013 at 2.33 #

      I never pay fees for ING Direct or PCF so I don’t know what you mean 🙂

Leave a Reply

