No Cable & No Data

21 Jun

OMG, you don’t have cable or data on your phone?  In this day and age, it is pretty standard for most people to have these “essentials” for their enjoyment.  But at what costs?

Nope, we don’t have cable at home!  We don’t have endless of channels to flip through when we are bored, jumping from channel to channel to find a decent show to watch for the time being.

We use HDTV antenna to watch a few given selected local channels.  HDTV antenna is a one time investment versus a monthly cable bill.   Most of the time, we download our favorite shows from the internet to watch it commercial free after it is aired on cable.

These are the channels we get from our HDTV antenna in the greater Vancouver area that we watch the most:

  1. 2.1 – CBC
  2. 8.1 – Global
  3. 17.1 – A Channel
  4. 32.1 – CTV
  5. 42.1 – Omni

Be warned:  Reception may not be best at times.  We lost a couple of channels recently.

Nope, I don’t have data on my LG Nexus 4!  Most of the time, I’m either at work or at home.  Both places, I have easy internet access.  If I am out and about, there are always a WiFi hotspot where I can get internet access on my phone.  I don’t always need to be connected per say.

By not having cable or data, we save around $100 per month easily.  This is our cost-effective ways to save money.  Keeping household expenses low is key for financial sustainability.

Can you cut these two expenses out of your life?  Some can, some can’t… it is up to you!

2 Responses to “No Cable & No Data”

  1. Brian September 23, 2013 at 2.33 #

    I use a smart phone with no data or voice and as you mentioned am able to connect to Wifi almost anywhere these days I use the app “fongo” for free voice calling anywhere in Canada and then pinger for free text msging to any Canadian number!
    The best part its for free! and I rarely even notice!

    • agentfang September 23, 2013 at 2.33 #

      Hi Brian, you’re are smart to do that! This will save you tons of money down the road. I don’t feel I need to be connected all the time. Besides, I get internet at home and work… why pay extra $20+ for convenience! WOw, you have no voice plan.. I don’t know if I can do that hehee. I might have to try that out!

Leave a Reply

