Capital One Mastercard got compromised

22 Jul

My Capital One Mastercard got compromised last Monday.  At Walmart, my card got declined twice.  A couple days after, I tried to make a purchase online to have the item sent to my work address.  Again, it got declined.  Agitated, I called Capital One.  I was put on hold for 20+ minutes after talking to the first representative in which I explained my situation.  By the time the next representative took my call, I was not very happy.  Talking in a louder tone than usual, I berated Rep#2 as to why my card was blocked and wasn’t made aware of the situation right from the start.

Rep#2 told me that my card was compromised on the Monday and that they sent a letter to my mailing address informing me.  Only then, I would have to call in to get a new card to send out.  Well, I never received that letter… still waiting for it.  I asked him why can’t they call or email me instead?  He’s like for security reasons, they only mail out letters to the cardholder’s address for verification “snail mail style.”  Even though, I get email notifications from Capital One and login into their site service all the time.

Right now, I am waiting for my new card after talking with them that night.  I am not impressed as I had to put some charges through to my other credit card where I don’t earn 1.5%.

Update:  I got a Fedex slip at home on July 22, 2013… guess that’s my new card from Capital one.  Now I have to pick it up from the Fedex depot cuz I was at work when they tried to delivery it.

When my card got compromised at MBNA Mastercard, they handled it very swiftly.  They had a message on my login account to call customer service and informed me right away that my card was skimmed and some charges were put through to my account, but they will reverse the charges and I got my credit card within 2 business days by Fedex.  Talk about quick service!

Leave a Reply

