Boston Pizza Fund

29 Jul

Over the years, I’ve traded a lot of stocks.  Even though, I took some pretty bad losses, I always seem to offset them with my gainers. There is one unit trust that I have kept for the longest time.  BPF.UN has given me a steady monthly distribution and share price appreciation.

Early 2009 was a pretty bad year for stocks.  At that time, I was pretty cash strapped.  I didn’t have a whole lot of money laying around to invest in.  But I wanted to put some money into a stock that will pay itself off.

On May 2009, I decided to put down 200 @ $9.10 on BPF.UN.  At that time, they were paying out 11.5 cents per share monthly!  So for a while, I was receiving $23/month… the distribution was lowered due to some rule changes to unit trusts in Canada.

Commission fee:  $29 (BMO Investorline)
Total dividends collected to date: $1026 (+55.48%)
Unrealized capital gain: $2601 as of July 29, 2013 (+140.67%)

Not bad for a relatively small market sized eatery on the West Coast of Canada.  I have more than doubled my money here.  If I only invested more, I would have been much better off now.

PS.  Scotia Itrade is charging me a quarterly inactivity fee of $25.  The only two stocks I hold there are BPF.UN and 300 shares of CHE.UN.  The combined total is less than the $10,000 minimum requirement .  So I might have to sell my beloved BPF.UN and move the money  to Virtual Brokers.  Itrade commission fee per trade is $24.99, really high if I wanted to stay put with them!! 

 

2 Responses to “Boston Pizza Fund”

  1. niais August 1, 2013 at 2.33 #

    See if you can do an in-kind transfer instead of selling the stocks

    • agentfang August 1, 2013 at 2.33 #

      Thanks for the suggestion. But Scotia Itrade will charge a $125 transfer out fee for the stocks. Since I only have less than $10k, I don’t think the receiving Virtual Broker will foot the bill this time around. So selling my two stocks to close the account will cost me $50 instead of $125 in kind transfer.

Leave a Reply

