Fresh Slice – Skimming off pennies

31 Jul

Today, I brought a nutella/peanut butter sandwich for lunch.  Usually, I don’t eat breakfast.  But lately, I haven’t been feeling well as my vision has been blurring with auras (symptoms of migraines).  Luckily, I didn’t get a migraine after my episode these last few times.  So I decided to eat half of my sandwich in the morning to be on the safe side.

As the story goes, I am still hungry come lunch time.  So I went to Fresh Slice to pick up a slice of pizza for $1.79 + GST = $1.88.

The lady would ring up the order on the till and it comes out to $1.88.  I paid with my credit card, she would round up and punch in $1.90!  Skimming me two cents!  The penny rule is only applicable to cash only, not credit cards.  You can actually punch in $1.88 on the credit machine, lady!

I didn’t complain to her that she’s actually overcharging me two cents.  But it’s starting to irk me.

Usually, I go for their Tuesday pizza deal which is $1.25 per slice!  I would get two slices for $2.50 + GST = $2.63.  Once again, she’d round up to $2.65 on my credit card.

I haven’t bought a slice for $1.25 + GST = $1.31.  Now, I wonder if she would round down as she’s suppose to or would she round up to $1.35?  By then, I would say something to her that she’s suppose to round DOWN to $1.30.

4 Responses to “Fresh Slice – Skimming off pennies”

  1. stephanieough July 31, 2013 at 2.33 #

    I would email the franchise and let them know. They will let the franchisee know and then hopefully they will stop overcharging.
    I love fresh slice but that would tick me off.
    Good luck!

    • agentfang July 31, 2013 at 2.33 #

      Ahh, good idea! I might just give it a shot!

      But I don’t want to cause any trouble… what if the franchisee decides not to accept credit card payments under a certain amount?

  2. Liquid August 1, 2013 at 2.33 #

    Either she knows she’s overcharging and hope customers won’t say anything, or her boss told her to do it and she doesn’t know the rules. In any case you have the right to bring it up because they’re not suppose to do that. I understand they’re trying to recover the 2 or 3 cents that they have to pay Mastercard or Visa whenever someone uses a credit card at their store, but they can’t do it this way lol. I wonder if they will penny pinch when people use debt cards, since the merchant fees are lower on those.

    • agentfang August 1, 2013 at 2.33 #

      Next time, I’ll confront her about it. Always the same lady.

Leave a Reply

