Virtual Broker – Margin Review on my Portfolio

5 Sep

Margin gives you the ability to buy stocks on borrowed money from the brokerage.  The more money you invest in a stock, your risk becomes greater as well.  It can be for the better or worse, but you really need to access how much you are willing to put down or stomach.  *Always be careful when borrowing money.*  

Presently, I have a margin account with Virtual Brokers.   The current rates at Virtual Brokers is 4.5% for CAD and 4.75% for USD.  Margin rates are usually competitive, since they have collateral to the amount of cash you have in the account with them.

Last month, I sold my Goldcorp stock.  So at the moment, I have $4,470.37 cash sitting in my CAD account.  I still don’t know what to buy on the Canadian side.

I also added a few American stocks to my portfolio on margin, but they haven’t been performing as well as I had hoped for.  At the moment, Currently, I have $8,384.51 margin in my USD account.  I am hoping Coke will make a turnaround soon, so I can lessen my margin load.

Current Value for USD Stocks on Margin:

Coke (KO)

2,075.99 1,912.00 -163.99 -7.90%

Visa (V)

$4,152.49 $4,052.83 -$99.66 -2.40%

Costco (COST)

2,240.99 2,292.40 +51.41 +2.29%

Anyways, I have been lazy and not really keep track of my overall stock portfolio.  Time for me to sit down one night and make a good tracking system for all my purchases and sales of stocks for 2013.

One Response to “Virtual Broker – Margin Review on my Portfolio”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Low Interest Rates | Freedom 35 Blog - September 6, 2013

    […] Fang talks about her margin account. And good thing she sold Goldcorp when she […]

Leave a Reply

