Making some changes to my TFSA

27 Sep

Today, I sold out 1270 shares of CHE.UN for $16.96 in my TFSA account. Fact was that CHE.UN took up 20% of my overall portfolio. The time I held onto this unit trust, I’ve collected a fair amount of distribution.

Anyways, I replaced it with 15 shares of MA at $679.50 for now. I am hoping I didn’t screw myself over in the months ahead. But I felt like it was time to say goodbye to CHE.UN and add more stake to Mastercard where it has really appreciated.

Also, I sold out QCOM – 25 @ $67.18 in my TFSA.

I plan on adding more Mastercard to my TFSA until my cash balance is zero. For now, I don’t want to add too much near their 52 week top.

I believe Mastercard has a strong chart and I am regretting that I didn’t ride this baby out from the start. When I first entered MA, it was around the $300-$350 range. I regret how impatient I was in May 2012 where I sold MA out for little profit. Look at it now, $680 range! Wow, I totally miss out some good gains. But now, I will hold this baby for a while till it fully matures. I will not sell out like the many times I have before.

I’m just thinking out loud. Sorry, if this is a bit confusing. I am not the type of person of analyzing stocks and giving you all the jazz about it.

If I like the stock and believe in it, I will buy it.

History recap, just at the top of my head with approximate numbers:

  1. I bought 200 shares of SBUX at $18, but sold out at $52.15.
  2. I had 200 shares of Visa at $70 at one point, but sold out for $2000 profit.  Fucken big mistake that was.
  3. I bought 10,000 shares of GQ at 15 cents, but eventually sold out at $1500 gain.  I could have sold out at their peak and made a cool $10k profit, but I held too fucken long!
  4. I bought 200 shares of AGU at $50 on margin, but got scared of the dip in the next few days and sold out at a loss.   Then I re-bought them at $70 and sold out for a $2000 gain.
  5. I bought 50 shares of GOOG at $612.00, but I sold half of it for a measly $100 gain because that portion was on margin.
Leave a Reply

