Added First Financial and Visa to my TFSA today

31 Oct

My timing might be a little rushed this morning, but I wanted to get in before the opportunity slipped by me.  I had cash sitting in my TFSA stagnant for the longest time.

This morning, I was surprised to see a $8/share drop in Visa.  They just released their earning reports on October 30th.  Visa announced strong earnings, authorizing a $5 billion repurchase program, and increasing their quarterly dividends by 21%. Yet the traders are pushing this stock down for some reason.

I picked up Visa- 10 shares @ $197.50

Also, I decided to add a strong monthly dividend payer to my TFSA.  Surely, I am missing the regular $127 per month distribution from my recent sale of Chemtrade Logistics Income Fund (CHE.UN) for Mastercard which is proven to be a good move after all.  I just I missed my chance to average down on Mastercard on two occasions earlier this month.  I hitting my head over it now.

First Financial is on a tear lately after they announced 80% jump in net income .  Am I buying at its highs again only to get burned?  

I picked up First Financial (FN.TO)-  500 shares @ $22.45

My dividend payout is $60 per month from First Financial.  But I hope that their stock price will appreciate in the time I hold it.  I’ve done well with BMO and I hope to replicate this by adding First Financial to my TFSA.

I am looking forward to the growth in my TFSA.  For the last few years, I’ve traded a lot.  I sold out stocks that I should have kept and kept stocks that I shouldn’t have.  I think my job is done here for the next while.

Disclosure of my TFSA holdings:

500 shares of First Financial
15 shares of Mastercard
37 shares of Visa

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Added First Financial and Visa to my TFSA today”

  1. Jimmy November 4, 2013 at 2.33 #

    Great blog !!
    I am a regular viewer of your website.
    What’s your thought’s on blackberry?

    Thanks, Jimmy.

    • agentfang November 4, 2013 at 2.33 #

      Hi Jimmy! Apple and Androids have taken over the cellular market. I think Blackberry is a thing of the past. It was innovative when it first came out, but as the market changed they couldn’t keep up with new technologies. I invested in RIM which is now called Blackberry before, and I sold out at a loss. I am happy that I got out when I did as their shares have plummeted. Unless they come up with something extraordinary… I think Blackberry might end up like ill fated Nortel. I like to invest in profitable companies. I don’t want to put money in a sinking company… But hey, you never know what the future might hold. There are still a lot of strong believers in Blackberry…

Leave a Reply

