Do you spend money everyday?

5 Nov

“Do you spend money everyday,” I asked my friend recently.  The reply was “Yes!”.

“How about myself?”  Well, I certainly do not spend money everyday.  I track my expenses everyday in my spreadsheet.  So I decided to count how many days I spend in a month.  On average, I end up spending money almost everyday as well.  20 days out of the month is a pretty high ratio!  I was surprised by this finding.  Since, I am not a big spender at heart!

Even though, I am spending 20 days out of the month.  My purchases are controlled and small.  I don’t really follow a budget.  If I see something I like or need, I will whip out my credit card to make my purchase.  I lead a simple life.  Most of my major purchases have been made, but there are always things that will pop into the picture which will make a dent in my savings.  I will worry about them later.

Food is my biggest daily expenditure.  Meal planning is an essential to keep costs down.  I try my best to cook in most of the time.  But sometimes, if I’m rushed for time or just plain lazy, I’ll go out to grab a bite.

Here are some tips:

When I do buy lunch/dinner, I try to make it last for another meal if the portion is large enough.

I always order water or tea.  It doesn’t cost you a thing, unless you ask for bottled water.

At Subway, I usually buy their 6″ pizza sub for $4.00.  Not too long ago, I discovered their $5 footlongs.  So now, I buy their $5 footlongs and split them up for two lunches making it $2.50 per lunch!

Tuesdays is a “slow” day of the week.  Most places have a deal to draw you into their eateries.  KFC have their Toonie Tuesdays (more like $2.99 + tax deal) with a chicken thigh and leg plus fries.  Fresh Slice have their $1.25 + tax per slice deal.  Movies at the theaters are usually a few bucks cheaper too!  I’m sure there are other deals on Tuesday around town, but those are the top ones I can think of.

Burger King have their daily King Deals.  $5 + tax combo.  You can even replace their fries for onion rings at no cost.

I am always on the lookout for coupons and deals.  Makes me happy when I get a big bang for my buck!

4 Responses to “Do you spend money everyday?”

  1. Qc November 5, 2013 at 2.33 #

    If you have a smartphone there is some fastfood coupon you dont need to print like harveys where you can get a trio for 5$ there might be some other but i don’t have a smartphone =) I use coupon often for food but not at grocery

    • agentfang November 5, 2013 at 2.33 #

      I do have a smartphone, but I don’t have data plan. I guess I can save those coupons on my phone and show it to them 🙂 I don’t really go to Harvey’s not many around Vancouver area. But they have nice burgers. Might just try it out soon.

      Redflagdeals.com is a good site for finding deals. Check them out. I never like paying full price for something if I know if they will go on sale later on.

  2. Alex Yang (@yyangalex) November 7, 2013 at 2.33 #

    i’ve been getting worse and eating out more. and chinese food in restaurants isnt exactly healthy. loaded with sodium, carbs, and grease!

    • agentfang November 7, 2013 at 2.33 #

      Sometimes you just gotta live and eat it up. 🙂 Yea I’ve been lazy lately and just going out to eat as well. Its a guilty pleasure. Mmmm haven’t done dim sum in a while though…

Leave a Reply

