Monthly Trading Goal Achieved!

28 Apr

My goal of realizing a profit of $500 per month was finally achieved when I sold my Mastercard on April 24th in my Questrade Margin account.  I held Mastercard for nearly four months and it has done well for me.  Even though, Mastercard went on to close at its 52 week high of $457.58 per share, I am happy with my emotionless trade.  I sold 10 of 40 shares of my Mastercard to lock in my gains.

Year to date, my realized gains were $2023.07 with a percentage gain of 3.64% which is not the best considering the amount of money I used to trade in the stock market.  Right now, my main focus is to monitor the progress of my stocks to maximize my profits and add new stocks for hands on active trading.

In my Questrade Margin account, I have a negative balance due to me averaging down on Apple.  After the spectacular earnings report from Apple, the stock gained most of its losses from the past week and a half of losing its footing.  However, the next couple of trading days, Apple seems to be trading negatively.  I may make an earlier exit if the opportunity arises.

I am quite disappointed with my trades in Just Energy and Inter Pipeline, now I have extra cash in my RRSP and TFSA account doing nothing.  If I had kept the stocks, my share price would have jump back up prior to the down slide, and I would have continued to collect my monthly distributions from these two companies.  Maybe, it’s a sign for me to move on and invest elsewhere.

Finding and researching stocks take patience and some luck as well.  If you pick the right stocks at the right time, you can really hit it big in your portfolio.  Pick a few stocks and monitor their progress from day to day to get a feel at how they’re trading.  When you feel the stock has reached a buying opportunity, jump in and let it ride till you feel it no longer serves you well.

Leave a Reply

